Participants wanted for new UK-wide study into coronavirus and learning disability

Learning Disability Wales is looking for people to take part in an important new study into how coronavirus is affecting the lives of people with a learning disability in Wales.

They are part of a UK-wide research study, funded by UK Research and Innovation, that begins in mid November. Right now we are looking for people who would be interested in taking part to please sign their Expression of Interest form.

Coronavirus has led to changes for all of us. New social rules and changes in our day to day lives are not always easy to live with. How have the lives of people with learning disabilities been changed and how do they feel about this? Learning Disability Wales want to share what they find out with policy makers,

They would like to hear from you if:

  • you are a person with a learning disability;
  • you are a parent or unpaid carer of a person with a learning disability;
  • you are a paid support worker supporting a person with a learning disability;
  • you work for an organisation that knows people who might want to share their stories.

If you are interested or are willing to help us find people to take part please sign up by completing the short Expression of Interest Form here. 

The easy read briefing sheet on the study can be found here.


To find out more about the study contact:

University of South Wales – Professor Stuart Todd: stuart.todd@southwales.ac.uk and Edward Oloidi: edward.oloidi@southwales.ac.uk

Cardiff University – Dr. Stephen Beyer: beyer@cardiff.ac.uk

Learning Disability Wales – Karen Warner: 029 20681160 or email: karen.warner@ldw.org.uk

All Wales Forum of Parents and Carers – 02920 811120 or 07976 223992 or email Josh Law: josh@allwalelesforum.org.uk or Gwen Anslow: gwen@allwalesforum.org.uk

All Wales People First – Tracey Drew: 07956 082211 or tracey@allwalespeople1st.co.uk

 

 
  • Third Sector Support Wales
  • PQASSO Quality Mark
  • Welsh Government
  • Investing in Volunteers
  • Lottery Community Fund
  • Disability Confident
  • Bridgend County Borough Council